(Bank) Holidays / Days off

public holidays in the netherlands, king's day, oranje
AMSTERDAM – APRIL 27: Amsterdam canals full of boats and people in orange during the celebration of Kings Day

While working on an agency contract, if you take a day off or go on holiday you must fill out 0 (zero) hours on your timesheet. Also, if you have a day off due to a Public Holiday you must fill out 0 (zero) hours. The hours will be paid out from the reservations, as explained during the contract signing and shown on your pay-slip. Recognized Dutch Public Holidays are: New Year’s Day, Easter Monday, King’s Day, Ascension Day, Pentecost Monday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. International companies with their HQ in the Netherlands might decide not to close on some of the Dutch Public Holidays as they support international clients. Should you be asked to work, you will receive compensation according to the hirer’s regulations

Please note that if a Public Holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there is no compensation for it on the following Monday.

For Public Holidays and other special days in The Netherlands,  see below a list for 2017 and 2018:

2017

Sunday, January 1 New year’s Day
Friday, April 14 Good Friday (not an official public holiday)
Sunday, April 16 Easter Day
Monday, April 17 Easter Monday
Saturday, April 27 King’s Day
Thursday, May 25 Ascension Day
Sunday, June 4 Pentecost Sunday (Whitsunday)
Monday, June 5 Pentecost Monday (Whitmonday)
Tuesday, December 5 Sinterklaas (not an official public holiday)
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday. December 26 Second day of Christmas (2e Kerstdag)
Sunday, December 31 New Years Eve (not an official public holiday)
   

2018 – Official National Holidays

Monday. January 1 New Years Day
Sunday, April 1 Easter Day
Monday, April 2 Easter Monday
Friday, April 27 King’s Day
Thursday , May 10 Ascension Day
Sunday, May 20 White Sunday
Monday, May 21 White Monday
Tuesday, December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 26 Second day of Christmas (2e Kerstdag)
   
   
   
   

 

Save

1 comment on “(Bank) Holidays / Days off”

Leave a Reply

Quick Job Search

Related blogs

Newsletter

  • Stay up to date.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.